AIMCA Wins Karnatak University Zonal Cricket Tournament

Anjuman Institute of Management and Computer Applications (AIMCA), Bhatkal won the Karnataka University, Dharwad (KUD) 2nd Zonal Cricket Tournament defeating J.G. College of Commerce, Hubli by 11 runs on Sunday. 

Over the years, the Anjuman team has given the impression of a well-oiled machine that clicks into gear at precisely the right moments. Sunday’s ruthless 11-run win over J.G. College of Commerce at the SDM College of Dental Sciences & Hospital, Dharwad ground added further credence to that.

AIMCA Skipper Waqas Siddibapa won the toss and chose to bat first. It followed a set template: a belligerent innings from Maaz Kapti (35, 24b, 5×4, 2×6) and Basha (23, 4×4), a late explosion Ehaab Udawayar (40, 23b, 1×4, 5×6), some miserly bowling by Ikram (4-0-39-3) and well-backed up by the pace trio. 

AIMCA scored 162 for seven in their allotted 20 overs.
For JG College Sachin (23/3) and hardik (32/3) picked up three wickets each.

Chasing a target of 163, J.G. College started their innings with a good start, After the completion of 8 overs they were 68 runs for 2. Later bowlers of AIMCA, especially the trio pace bowled splendidly. Ikram who bagged three wickets by conceding just 39 runs.

JG College were manage 151 for nine in their 20 overs and AIMCA, Bhatkal won by 11 runs. For JG College Iklas who batted well and scored 37 runs.
Mohammed Maaz Kapti was declared Player of the Final match and Ehaab was declared as Best Batsman of the tournament.

A total of 14 teams from across the 2nd zone of Karnatak University, Dharwad had participated in the tournament and AIMCA reached the finals and bagged the title for second time in the history of KUD. 

On this victory, Anjuman Hami-e-Muslimeen President Abdur Raheem Jukaku, General Secretary Mohammed Ansar Kasimiji, College Board Secretary Mohammed Aftab Qamri, principal Mohammed Mohsin and physical director and team coach Prof Mohan Mesta congratulated the players.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *